top of page
  • Writer's pictureDina Fajardo-Tovar

Digital Intelligence: The skillset to thrive in the digital era

At the turn of the millennium, digital technologies started to become widely available for people around the world.

At this point, after two years of the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, digital technology is central to common processes such as communication, messaging, content access, gaming, and social organization.

Therefore, the DQ institute has defined “digital intelligence (DQ)” as the set of knowledge, skills, and competencies required to thrive in the digital world.

This framework is endorsed by the Coalition for Digital Intelligence (CDI), formed by the OECD, IEEE SA, the DQ Institute, and the World Economic Forum.

Digital Intelligence (DQ) focuses on 8 critical areas of digital life including:

1. Digital Identity 5. Digital Emotional Intelligence

2. Digital Use 6. Digital Communication

3. Digital Safety 7. Digital Literacy

4. Digital Security 8. Digital Rights.

Each of these areas can be mastered in three different levels.

The first and basic level is called citizenship. This level focuses on the responsible, safe, and ethical use of technologies. The second level is referred to as creativity. This level aims at encouraging problem-solving through creating new knowledge, technologies, and content. Last, the competitiveness level focuses on innovations to improve the community and the economy.

To read more about DQ check out the Global Standards Report 2019 .

Families, schools, and other institutions support adults, teenagers, and children to improve their digital intelligence. Specifically for children, the DQ Institute created the DQ World, a platform in which the children’s DQ can be measured and nurtured. To access the platform:

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page